Here’s a reminder to take time for yourself, go for a walk, and look for inspiration in the simple things

Writing is an escape for first-time novelist Sarah Gould. Despite the pain of Crohn’s disease, this young writer is forging ahead with the trilogy she’s knee-deep in, and the first installment is almost done. Sarah has been writing as long as she can remember, and for good reason. When she’s writing, she says, “I don’t feel limited, I don’t feel afraid. It is one of the only times that I feel in control.”

I think a lot of us can identify with that, Sarah!

An enormous, involved project like penning a trilogy is enough to intimidate anyone. But when even simple tasks leave her feeling exhausted, Sarah says she’s proud that she’s been able to stick with this for as long as she has.

And she’s learned a lot about herself over the many months she’s been working on her book. Here, Sarah shares with us her insights about relaxation, rejuvenation, and of course, inspiration.

But first, be sure to keep up on Sarah’s journey to becoming a published author by following her blog, Paper, Words, and Coffee. There, she expounds on a wide range of topics, including her own novel progress (first draft completed at 98,100 words!), advice on how to write a good fight scene, and the history of coffee (which involves hyperactive goats, by the way).

Now, Sarah, where does your inspiration come from?

(Incidentally, if you’d like to be featured here, please see this page to find out how)

Sarah’s two cents:

For me, finding inspiration can be like a search-and-rescue operation. I am often haunted by depression and anxiety, as well as the pain of Crohn’s disease. My illnesses leave me drained and seem to suck every creative thought from my mind, only to replace it with darkness.

When I’m craving light and inspiration, I find the best thing to do is to simply go for a walk. I am fortunate to live in the Adelaide Hills in South Australia. My house is surrounded by trees and beautiful wildlife. I will grab my camera and a book, and find myself a beautiful tree to sit under. I escape from the world for a while. As I relax, there is nothing but me and the wind playing with my hair, the grass tickling my feet, the smell of eucalyptus in the air, and the sound of the native parrots.

I took this picture on one such excursion. I’d had enough of my stress, so my family and I packed our bags and went camping. We were secluded in the middle of a forest, surrounded by old trees. That week away was so simple and refreshing, I found my inspiration once more.

I like to look back at this picture as a reminder of those relaxing weeks away. Due to university commitments, I don’t always have the luxury of dropping everything and leaving. But this picture reminds me to take time for myself, go for a walk, and to look for inspiration in the simple things.

Now it’s your turn. Let me know what inspires your writing for a chance to be featured on this blog!

9 thoughts on “Here’s a reminder to take time for yourself, go for a walk, and look for inspiration in the simple things

  1. Crohn’s disease is a disease I was recently educated on. One of my co-worker’s daughter suffer from this infliction. The stories she tells, make me grit my teeth, and close my eyes in empathy. But enough labeling Sarah as a disorder. Her words are great and inspiring enough without the pain. With the pain makes her a superhero. She has simply walked into me heart. Thanks for sharing….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your lovely words, perhaps I should come up with a superhero alter-ego 😛 I’m glad my words have inspired you, and I sincerely hope your co-worker’s daughter feels better soon 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m lucky to have a wellspring of creativity. Like Rilke said, I must write or else die. I guess that’s when my writing will end. I’ll never stop even if I stop blogging and publishing. Those things don’t dictate my writing. Thanks for your post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

