Dear writer, do you criticize yourself a lot? Try approving

“Remember, you have been criticizing yourself for years and it hasn’t worked. Try approving of yourself and see what happens.”
—Louise L. Hay

Remember that book you’re working on? The one that you think maybe-could-sell-but-maybe-not-because-it’s-not-that-great-but-even-if-it-was-I-don’t-know-how-to-finish-it? Yep, that one.

As writers, we all have doubts, and very often we are overly critical of ourselves. I am no exception!

And you know what? That way of thinking never gets me far. I’m guessing it doesn’t do you any favors either.

If you’re hard at work on a book (or have since given up), one piece of advice I can offer is: don’t overthink it. Overthinking, often, is a subconscious way of procrastinating, because we’re afraid of what might happen once it’s all done (*Gasp* No sales! Bad reviews! The list goes on…).

But you can eliminate those fears. First of all, no matter what your skill level, realize that success does not depend on sheer talent (50 Shades of Grey, anyone?). Rather, it’s persistence, it’s believing in what you create, and, as motivational author Louise L. Hay has pointed out in the above quote, it’s changing your mode of thinking from criticizing yourself to approving of yourself, that gets you to the top.

If you find yourself thinking this way, like so many other writers, you could use a good dose of the gospel Ms. Hay preaches here in just two sentences.

On the other hand, if what you’re doing is working just fine thank you very much, carry on.

Meantime, I’ll be hanging out over at MyDreamBookTeam, ready to help you complete your book, and make an amazing finished product that sells. I designed the Dream Bookshelf program to guide you along and make getting your book done a lot easier for you, so I can’t wait to see you there.

Questions about any of this? Feel free to drop me a line!

8 thoughts on “Dear writer, do you criticize yourself a lot? Try approving

  1. I mean, I can’t end a productive writing session without qualifying that I’m shit at what I do. At least I’m stubborn though.

    Though the overthinking bit is sound. Was fixing a chapter the other day when I told a beta reader what I had planned. He told me to fuckin’ stop because the original was fine as was. I still don’t really believe that, but it meant not putting another two hours into my book that night, which was kinda nice.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for this post! I’m still a bit of a rookie writer, but I often doubt my abilities to write well at all, even though I love writing and hope to publish a book of my own someday. I often overthink things, as you mentioned, and overthinking really can kill your self esteem and leave you with nothing but doubts. Reading your post helped me realize that constantly criticizing and doubting myself really won’t get me anywhere – accepting myself and believing in my abilities, however, may take me places. Thanks again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

