Show off your writing (and win) during “Show and Tell” week!

An important part of writing a book is showing off your writing from time to time.

Here’s a simple truth: if we want readers, then we have to write something that people want to read. This doesn’t mean we have to churn out cheesy drugstore romance novels just because there’s a huge market for them. But it does mean that we have to listen to our readers, or at least be open to their feedback.

If you’re an experienced, successful author—that is, you’ve published many books and they’ve done well—you probably have a pretty good grasp on what your readers want by now.

But if you’re a new author, especially if you’re writing your very first novel, it helps to understand what readers are looking for.

And who better to ask than…the readers themselves!

That’s where “Show and Tell” week comes in.

Here’s how to do it in 3 easy steps:

  1. Post a comment below
  2. Show us a link to the passage you’d like us to read
  3. Tell us what sort of feedback you’re open to (Plot ideas? Grammar? Dialogue? Character development?)

I’ll pick a winner when “Show and Tell” week is over!

[The comment section will take your comments now. Post away!]

11 thoughts on “Show off your writing (and win) during “Show and Tell” week!

    • I enjoyed reading this, I really did. Your descriptions were great! I can see it all in my mind’s eye. Very important by the way.
      “Reading some of the entries whilst preparing for this piece I came across the following entry for one of the crews, describing an aborted mission that took place on the 25th May 1943.” How great would it be to sit back and read these records. You’re holding history in your hands! Brava!

      Like

  1. Here is a link to my blog page. It seems to be where a lot of my thoughts and pieces I write end up…I need a direction to my story. I have a current title if that’s what you want to call it however, I would like to change it. I have the leading man, the beautiful girl etc. My mind wants to make this a love story but, is the world inundated with those already? They could get together later in the story and then take over the farm letting her dad retire, etc. etc. I feel like I am rambling both here and in my story 🙂

    https://tiffanydoran80.wordpress.com/2016/04/03/233/

    Like

    • I think you paint an excellent picture of life on this farm. The everyday things you describe and the interactions between the characters put you in the middle of this scene.
      I found this difficult to get to this part of the story, as your characters are all speaking in the same paragraph. I had to keep backtracking to see who was speaking, which took me away from the flow.
      In terms of a direction for the story, I think something needs to happen, because at the moment you are describing the current state of play, the lay of the land, if you like. If you want to make it a romance, do that. I wouldn’t worry about the world being inundated with romances. It’s your story and how many of those does the world have?
      Pick a goal for your leading lady – perhaps (as you suggest) she wants to ease the pressure on her dad with the farm, but her leading man wants to be with her, but doesn’t want to take on the farm. Can they solve this, be happy together and still take on the farm? What sacrifices need to be made to make that happen (and I don’t mean who do you offer to the gods before a full moon – horror writer, sorry)?
      I think you may already have the goal, and you already seem to have the beginnings of your protagonists, so you’re part way there already!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for your insight and direction suggestions!! I appreciate you taking the time to read it and let me know your thoughts. I actually just pulled up my blog to work on the story and found your advice. Coincidence? I think not!

        Like

Leave a Reply

