Don’t let your writing dreams die! In 5 years, where will you be?

As writers, we all want to live the life of our dreams as published authors. But each of us dreams of something different, and we’re all at different stages. Some are already (or almost) there, but most of us, I think it’s fair to say, are somewhere en route.

When you picture your life 5 years from now, what does it look like?

Maybe you’d like to live somewhere else—either another city or another country. Maybe you’d like to have a cabin in the mountains you can retreat to and write. Or maybe you envision a large readership and frequent book releases.

Some writers dream of major life change, others only want to make a few small adjustments.

That’s why I’m hosting Dream Week on this blog: to find out what you dream of.

Take a moment and think about why you’re writing a book. If you’ve written other books, why did you write those?

Obviously, we all want someone to read what we write—that’s fundamental.

But above and beyond that, what will being a published author lead you to? Fame? Fortune? Travel? Book tours and speaking engagements? More opportunities to be alone and write? A simple change of scenery?

Picturing yourself five years from now, think about:

  • Where you live
  • What you’re writing
  • How you spend your days
  • How many books you’ve published
  • The people in your life
  • Any other aspects of daily life that spring to mind

Again, think about your dream in the present tense, as if it’s January 2022 and you’re already living it.

If your dream sounds impossible right now, don’t worry. Being an internationally acclaimed author probably sounded pretty impossible to Stephen King around the time he was working three jobs and couldn’t even afford his own typewriter.

Remember, the point of this exercise is not to sweat the details about how you’re going to get there, just what you want your life to be like in 5 years.

If you take a few minutes now to write this out, you’ll see how it all plays out next week.

Comment below—there’s no right or wrong, good or bad!

5 thoughts on “Don’t let your writing dreams die! In 5 years, where will you be?

  1. January 2022, wow that happened fast. It seemed like just a literal minute ago it was 2017. My oldest girl is 22, my middle girl 21 and my youngest girl 12. My husband and I have been married for 22 years and still love each other as much as our first kiss showed we would. Five years ago at this time, I was sitting on my couch in my favorite purple housecoat, having just fixed breakfast, dreaming of being an author. An email came through asking “what do you want your life to be like in five years?” and well, that was pretty much my starting point…if one is curious.
    Here I am, that day five years ago, I envisioned myself not looking out my window seeing a row of houses but yet instead, seeing a row of boats tied to a dock. The ocean greeting me with every wave…literally and watching the sun bounce off of the diamond layered sea. The sun is beautiful here this time of day and I’m so glad we got our labs to calm down so they could enjoy the ocean as much as we do. Our cats enjoy lying on our big window seat in front of the bay window so they can bask in the sun as they lie sleeping.
    I worked hard to get here, but hardwork never hurt anyone; it shows and grows character. It makes you appreciate what you have. It shows that all you have in life you earned and didn’t have it handed to you. I wasn’t born with a silver spoon in my mouth and I knew that what I wanted, I would have to work harder for than someone who did have that silver spoon. But in the end, I’ll appreciate it even more. I’m so glad “”______”” took a chance on me and my books. Sometimes it takes a village.

    Where am I going to be in five years? Tim asks.
    Well, I guess in five years be expecting an Invitation to our home to spend the day on the water.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. In five years, I hope to be well established as an author. I would Like to have published my current work and its subsequent counterparts. My husband and I have decided that regardless of how successful it is, we will remain in the home we have now, however many upgrades will be made. We find that Denver is a good central location to any and everything and our home is everything we need.

    In five years both of my children will be in school. I may work part-time somewhere to keep my head, but I would spend most days in my own space writing whatever it is I have moved onto. Probably something that raises my blood pressure because those are the most exciting.

    I would be comfortable and happy. I would be mulling over movie ideas for my books as well as coming up with new concepts and story lines from my original releases.

    I realize that I have dreams of grandeur. Ultimately I want to only work because I want to, not because I financially have to and I want to live comfortably.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s 2022, and instead of squeezing in writing around the edges of my life and in the bursts of free weeks, I am able to write frequently and often, as much as I like (or very nearly, anyway). I have several books published, professional-looking with snazzy covers and sleek edit jobs. I am reaching an ever-growing audience who enjoy my stories as much as I do (or very nearly, anyway). I am considering whether I should try my hand at established publishing houses or if I’d rather just spare myself the headache and keep the royalties.
    I am able to attend writing retreats and conferences regularly/when I want to (or very nearly, anyway).
    I live with one of my siblings in an apartment, still in Washington. I’m planning and researching a move to a more agreeable climate with more sun, however. I may have a boyfriend; that’s classified information. If I do, he’s very supportive of all of these wild and crazy hopes and dreams of mine, and my writing passion and goals.
    I am finding ways to meet my favorite authors and role models, such as book signings/tours, and have already met a couple!!
    I work a small job on the side to fund my writing, but it is not my main focus or joy. I am looking forward to the day (hopefully not long now), where I can dedicate the bulk of my time to writing, editing, and the publishing process. My goal is to release one book a year, and I’m getting there.
    It’s a little crazy and my life is far from easy, but I’m seeing how far I’ve come in the last five years and the future is bright with promise.
    Maybe dreams do come true, after all.

    Like

  4. 2022 my words have gained momentum and hold meaning to a large audience. The healing I’ve experienced has helped someone or many. I’m still living in the home I started in. Most importantly, I’m still writing something every day. I now understand why I was so hesitant five years ago. It was part of my journey, my process, and it helped me get to where I am. I’m healthy, whole, and forever composing in my head, on paper, and through the keyboard. I began, and so my voice is heard.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

