When writing feels like a chore? Power through

I’m guessing that as a writer, you love to write, and happily find time most days to get your ideas out onto paper.

But I’m also guessing that other days, you’re not exactly springing out of bed and jumping into your writing chair.

In fact, some days, writing can feel very much like a chore.

It’s perfectly normal, and here’s the thing: you’d be hard-pressed to find one big-name author who has never had plenty of days where writing felt like drudgery. It was the master of suspense himself, Stephen King, who said, “Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.”

Meaning you have to do it even when you don’t want to. That’s what separates a hobbyist from a professional.

And if it’s your dream to be (or you already are) a professional, published author, it’s important to treat writing as your job.

When you can bring yourself to sit down and get some work done on the days where writing feels like a bit of a slog, you’ll feel that much better on the good days, fueled even more by the enjoyment, creative wonder, and sense of possibility that comes with writing a novel, knowing that you are a professional and you are making progress, rain or shine.

And hey, the good news? Unlike a traditional day job, you get to set your own schedule!

I encourage you to join the Page-a-Week Writers Club—it’s a great way to get writing on a regular basis, meet and network with other authors, and turn writing into a habit—even if, like most of us, you’re busy busy busy! Join now

4 thoughts on “When writing feels like a chore? Power through

  1. My wordpress site seems to have lost its appearance/widget option. I cannot find it in my list. For that matter, I can’t find my dashboard on WP. I have a list of the sharing buttons already on my site, but I don’t see an option to add. Would it be under plug-ins? Your instructions for sharing my ChapterBuzz on my WP aren’t clear to me. Sorry. Can you help? By the way, I still haven’t figured out how to get into the Page-a-Week Club. I did join, but there is no log in, and when I go to Chapter Buzz there is no place that says Page-a-Week Club. On Fri, Jun 9, 2017 at 9:56 AM, What Inspires Your Writing? wrote:

    > Timothy Pike posted: “I’m guessing that as a writer, you love to write, > and happily find time most days to get your ideas out onto paper. But I’m > also guessing that some days, you’re not exactly springing out of bed and > jumping into your writing chair. In fact, some days” >

    Liked by 1 person

    • You should be able to access your WordPress dashboard at https://aletakay.wordpress.com/wp-admin/. At that point, you should see a menu item (on the left side of the screen and down a little ways) that says “Appearance.” Click and it will pop out another menu where you should see “Widgets.” From there, my instructions (http://www.chapterbuzz.com/faq#sidebar) might make a little more sense, starting with step 3. Let me know if not, and specifically what is unclear so I can make clarifications to my instructions.

      The HTML code snippet you will need to paste in, per my instructions, is at http://www.chapterbuzz.com/share#blog. Just make sure you’re logged in when you go to this page because it is customized just for you.

      I swear if there were an easier way to do this, I would be doing that instead. Fortunately, once you do this it’s done forever 🙂

      As for the Club, you’re actually already in (since you’re already a ChapterBuzz member the signup process was literally one click). More site updates are coming soon to make it easier to see your membership status, along with word count tools!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

